One new photo every Friday, to complement fotoeins.com

Number 22: It’s Weihnachtsmarkt (Christmas markets) season!

Weihnachtsmarkt, Römerberg, Frankfurt am Main, Germany

I fell in love with the German Weihnachtsmärkte (Christmas markets) from the time I lived in Heidelberg, Germany. The annual Weihnachtsmarkt season is in full swing in Europe and in North America; markets in just about every town in Germany will certainly be open by the first week in December. The “Weihnachtsmarkt” is not just a market, but a winter festival complete with lights, decorations, food, and of course, the ubiquitous Glühwein. At some locations, ice skating, a carnival, carousel, and even slides round out activities for kids. Under light snowfall on a cold crisp evening, there’s nothing quite like the atmosphere of a Weihnachtsmarkt. I wrote more about the Frankfurter Weihnachtsmarkt here.

I made the photo above in Frankfurt am Main, Germany on 18 December 2010. This post appears on Fotoeins WIDE at fotowide.wordpress.com.

4 responses

  1. This is simply a stunning photo of something I’m DYING to see!

    29 November 2013 at 2130 UTC

    • Hi, Leah. I must admit sometimes I feel there’s almost “too many people” at the markets, but that just speaks to their pulling power. There are beautiful “quiet” sights at the market, and I never thought I’d ever gravitate towards stands with warm lights, stars, balls, and decorations. I *want* you to experience a German Christmas Market as soon as possible. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and for your kind comment!

      29 November 2013 at 2133 UTC

  2. I agree with Leah!

    1 December 2013 at 1842 UTC

    • Hi, Penny. My hope is for everyone to see a true German Christmas Market once in their lives. Fortunately, you don’t have to go to a large city, as just about every town in the country will have one in their central market square.

      1 December 2013 at 2031 UTC

Please leave a reply!

