One new photo every Friday, to complement fotoeins.com

Number 31: Fogcouver at dawn

High View Lookout, Barrett's View, Cypress Mountain, West Vancouver, BC, Canada

Winter in Vancouver can often mean an inversion layer where marine fog forms and creeps in from nearby Strait of Georgia to blanket most/all of the area by the water. The city then struggles to get warm under the cool moist air, whereas up high on the local mountains, it can be several degrees warmer (dare I say, “shorts weather”) under the bright sun. Here in this photo made about 40 minutes after sunrise from the High View Lookout on Cypress Mountain is a glorious view of Vancouver. The rest of the photos appear here.

I made this photo on 26 January 2014. This post appears on Fotoeins WIDE at fotowide.wordpress.com.

(Link back to Travel Photo Discovery)

2 responses

  1. Fabulous shot, Henry. I live up in the hills south on the peninsula south of San Francisco and sometimes we get that same view of the clouds. Very cool.

    4 February 2014 at 0447 UTC

    • Hi and thanks, Cathy! I remember the fog that creeps into the Bay Area, and I have fond memories of a very cold clear afternoon on the Marin side of the Golden Gate Bridge, watching the fog “stream” over the Marin hills and into the Bay. Given the speed at which the fog/cloud was streaming over, it begs to be filmed, which I’m sure many have done, but I have not yet, so I’d like to try my hand at that, too. I hope you checked out the remaining photos (http://wp.me/p1BIdT-4qV). Thanks again for reading and for your comment!

      4 February 2014 at 0453 UTC

Please leave a reply!

